Curry a la Trader Joe’s

I feel like I’m learning to cook all over again.  Making food for one is different game than making food for the Co-op, as is planning meals that I can pack for lunch.  All through undergrad I would just walk home, roast some veggies, fry an egg, and call it good.  Now I’m using a lunch box for the first time since grade school.

wp-image-940336674
Grad school or grade school? At least it’s cute.

With student teaching in the morning and grad classes in the afternoon/evening, my days start at 6:00 AM and end around 6:00 PM.  By the time I return to my apartment, all I want to do is run, shower, and crash.  The thought of putting together lunch for the next day is unappealing as heck.  So I make a big batch of something on Sunday, divide it into containers, and add a fruit + a veggie snack when I pack it up.

Last week I cooked up a big batch of curry.  I feel like a bit of a cheater for using simmer sauce from TJ’s instead of mixing my own spices, but c’est la vie.  The recipe was simple, filling, and tasty enough that I didn’t mind eating it a few days in a row. Also a great dump for some veggies that were getting weird in my fridge.
(Grocery shopping for one is a steeper learning curve than cooking for one, I think).

wp-image-999822678
Cheater sauce

Curry a la TJ’s:

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1-2 big carrots
  • 2 baby bell peppers
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 2 jalapeños
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 10(ish) tbsp Trader Joe’s Curry Simmer Sauce
  • rice

Instructions:

  1. Put rice on to boil.
  2. Dice vegetables and add to a pot with chickpeas.
  3. Add yogurt and Simmer Sauce to veggie pot.  Top off with water until liquid is level with veggies.
  4. Stir, then simmer until carrots and sweet potatoes can be pierced easily with a fork, approx. 40 minutes.  Let stand for sauce to thicken.
wp-image-1639417793
A week of lunches, BAM.  Also, peep the hummus container that is now a curry container.

 

4 thoughts on “Curry a la Trader Joe’s

  1. I made this last night but used vegan yogurt #goodvegan. Lowkey its disgusting but solid for cooking. I miss you so I’m blog stalking

    Like

Leave a Reply

