Hearty Crockpot Chili

The Big Move is now a week old.  Orientation is done (more on that come Student Teaching Tuesday).  My apartment is unpacked.  Some of the vegetables I planted on my patio are beginning to germinate!

It feels like a long while ago that I made this chili.  I cooked it up the night my mom flew back to Illinois, trying to ward off the anxiety that besets me with any change.  (Spoiler Alert: it only kinda worked).

This is a incredibly easy dish, and it yields enough that you can eat it all week, which I did.  It’s also pretty cheap, with all the canned ingredients. While I was waiting for it to cook, I made a loaf of this 1-hour bread, so I had (several) well-rounded meals.

Cooking this chili had me feeling very homesick for my familiar Co-op kitchen.  I kept opening drawers and forgetting what I stored in them.  I miss knowing in my body where everything lives, reaching for knives and cutting boards intuitively.  I miss cooking with an audience, a rotation of housemates poking their heads in to say “smells good!”  I miss cooking for people too.  The satisfaction of feeding myself pales in comparison to the joy of feeding a whole gang of people I love.  Boo.

But!  A week in and things already feel better! I had a few satisfying but lonely chili dinners, then on Saturday I was joined by a new friend from my program and an old friend from the Co-op! Everything tasted much better with their company.  (And godbless, because we finished the leftovers and now I can eat something else!). (But really this chili is so great and easy and you should make it!!).

wp-image-993785862
Old Co-op friend Taylor and new program friend Andrew!  We got beer and garlic fries post-chili.
wp-image-1585523684
This crockpot came from the thrift store and cost $6! One of my best finds to date.

Crockpot Chili

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans diced toms
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 jalapeño peppers
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1-2 bell peppers
  • chili powder
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • lemon juice
  • lots o’ time

Instructions

  1. Dice jalapeños, onion, and bell peppers.  Put in crockpot.  I included the seeds from my jalapeños, but they can be omitted if you’re  ~sensitive~.
  2. Open cans of toms, kidney beans and black beans.  Do not drain. Put in crockpot.
  3. Add lemon juice and spices to taste.
  4. Add a 1/2 cup water.
  5. Cook on high for approx. 3 hours, until chili is thick and bubbling.
  6. That’s it, all done, enjoy.

P.S. The lighting in my new kitchen is way better so I guess I’m keeping the blog, wahoo!  Ty to everybody who told me I should.

2 thoughts on “Hearty Crockpot Chili

  1. I feel the same way about cooking FOR people. But in a way you are cooking for your readers when you make something and then share the recipe 🙂 thank you for this one! I will 100% be making this one this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

