Pizza with Pals

wp-image-245489091
Luke and Kim and our homemade pizza.

Last night was goddamn lovely.  Kim is one of my oldest and dearest friends.  We send each other Valentine’s Day cards and have matching tattoos.  Luke I’ve known since high school, and he always makes me laugh and think.  We were together last night for the first time since Spring Break, AKA far too long ago.

wp-image-1150214990
This manicure brought to you by my tax refund.

Kim and I got our nails done, went grocery shopping, and worked on a creative project in the afternoon.  Then we made some pizza dough and gossiped while it rose.  Luke drove up after he finished work, and we all ate dinner together.  Afterwards we walked to our favorite ice cream shop, then took our cones for a stroll along the lake.  The sunset was fantastic. We talked about Kim maybe going to law school, about Luke applying to PT programs, and about my Big Move.  Eventually, we made it back to Kim’s place to cuddle in her bed. I was blissfully content. It felt like being in high school again, except now we all love ourselves and go to bed at 10 P.M.Seeing Kim + Luke two always reminds me both how much has changed and how much hasn’t.

I’m so grateful to have people I’ve known so long, who love me and who loved me when I was different versions of myself.  Kim and I were in kindergarten together!  I didn’t cry at graduation and the tears have not caught me yet, but saying goodbye to those two will be #rough.  I’m a lucky duck, to have them in my life.

wp-image-564436561.png
Brimming with friend-love :’)

 


Anywho.  To make the pizza that was part of my wonderful night, I used this recipe for the crust. It’s v straightforward.  The recipe doesn’t say what temperature to bake at, but I put the crusts in at 350 for approx. 20 minutes, then topped them and baked another 35-ish minutes.  From stand mixer to plate, the whole process took around two hours, but one of those hours was for dough-rising and gossip. We used store-bought sauce (IK, I’m embarrassed), 1/2 mozzarella cheese, 1/2 provolone, and a generous sprinkle of fresh parmesan.  Raw veggies were tossed on top. Easy as pie, pun intended.

wp-image-520112665
Just like Domino’s! (JK, much better).  

One thought on “Pizza with Pals

Leave a Reply

