Maple Date Cupcakes

This was a trash week, tbh.  I was scheduled for extra shifts at the coffeeshop, I had midterms in two classes, my period arrived, and a Facebook thread got real racist.  If it weren’t for my self-imposed blogging schedule, I wouldn’t have cooked anything besides fried eggs.  But my goal in starting this blog was to force myself to take advantage of my lovely co-op kitchen before I graduate.  Also, it’s housemate Maggie’s birthday.  And so I present to you: Maple Date Cupcakes!

IMG_20170514_172131_319
Fuck. Me. Up.

Making these vanilla cupcakes, I finally understood why recipes suggest such incredibly long times for creaming butter and sugar.  The extended beating adds air to the batter, and the result is cake so light, you could be eating a cloud. I filled the cupcakes with my favorite date paste and topped them with maple buttercream.  The result is literally decadent.

Vanilla Cupcakes (adapted from 500 Cakes by Susannah Blake):

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 sticks butter @ room temperature
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Instructions

  1. Beat together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.  Beat till you’re bored and then beat some more.  This will incorporate air, giving you a light, fluffy cake.
  2. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  3. Sift flour over top and fold in on low speed.  Add vanilla and baking powder.
  4. Spoon batter into a muffin tin and bake @ 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, until cupcakes pass the toothpick test.  Allow to cool, then remove middles and fill with this date paste.  Frost + enjoy.
20170514_163030
Waiting to be filled.
20170514_160621
I’m gonna miss making frosting in this mixer </3

Maple Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 7 teaspoons maple syrup

Instructions:

  1. Combine ingredients and beat together until smooth + creamy.
  2. Lick the whisk.

One thought on “Maple Date Cupcakes

  1. GREAT tip in creaming the butter and sugar, damn. I want video tutorials next. I seriously love your content so much. You come up with the most elegant and delicious-sounding recipes. NOT JUST SAYING THIS, probs my fave dessert blog. Teach me to use the kitchen gadgets! And feed me the desserts so I can affirm their deliciousness 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

